Expanded CPhI Pharma Awards open for entries


New categories introduced for biopharm, ingredients, supply chain and logistics, manufacturing technology and CEO of the year

The annual CPhI Pharma Awards for 2015 are now open for entries, with five new categories covering the entire pharmaceutical supply chain. Now in their 12th consecutive year, the awards will honour companies and individuals driving the pharma industry forward through innovations, new approaches, technologies and strategies.


This year’s awards are open for entries from across the entire pharmaceutical industry and are split into eight categories covering:

  • Best Innovation in Packaging
  • Best Innovation in Process and Formulation Development
  • Excellence in Partnering & Outsourcing
  • NEW - Best Innovation in APIs and Excipients
  • NEW - Best Innovation in Biologic Drug Development and Manufacturing
  • NEW - Innovation in Supply Chain & Logistic Management
  • NEW - Best Innovation in Manufacturing Technology
  • NEW - CEO of the Year

The expanded award categories have been created to give full recognition to all the great innovations coming out of the pharma industry and the winners will be unveiled live during CPhI Worldwide, taking place 13-15 October in Madrid, Spain.

Entries are now open to both exhibitors and visitors of CPhI Worldwide until 7 August, and the finalists will be confirmed on 21 September.

On the first day of CPhI Worldwide (13 October), the selected finalists will be invited to deliver a presentation in a dedicated area on the show floor – providing an opportunity for the judges and the industry to make a closer inspection and evaluation of the merits of the shortlisted entries. Shortly afterwards, the CPhI independent jury panel will retire to re-evaluate and score the entries, before re-emerging to announce the winners at a prestigious award ceremony later that day.

The CPhI Pharma Awards Jury Panel features some of the industry’s most influential and respected figures, and this year includes:

  • Dr Hendrik Baumann, Arevipharma
  • Mr Michaël Nieuwesteeg, NVC (Netherlands Packaging Centre)
  • Dr Michael Platscher, Merck & Cie
  • Dr Rene Bommer, pharmAccel Consulting
  • Mr Gil Roth, PBOA
  • Mrs Hilary Ayshford, HPCi Media
  • Dr Didier Bensoussan, AMRI Global
  • Mr Gary Norman, DFE Pharma
  • Mr Harsh Chauhan, Creighton University
  • Mrs Veronique Bregeon, Merial – a Sanofi company

Last year, MJR PharmJet was named winned in the ‘Formulation’ category for its technology that enables the drug loading of hydrophobic nanoparticles; Locked4Kids and its world-first child-resistant carton won the ‘Best Innovation in Packaging’ category; Catalent Pharma Solutions won the ‘Partnering’ category for its collaboration with Redwood Bioscience; and the ‘Best Innovation in Process Development’ was received by acib’s Catalophor System.

'We are excited to enter the 12th year of recognising innovation and thought leadership in the pharma industry and this year we have opened up five new categories to ensure we fully cover the breadth of innovations,' said the Group Director Pharma at UBM EMEA.

Sign up for your free email newsletter

'The CPhI Pharma Awards provide an excellent platform for honouring individuals and companies who push the boundaries to develop solutions to the industry’s most pressing needs. With the entire global pharma community exclusively focused on CPhI Worldwide in October, it is also a tremendous opportunity for companies to raise the profile of their innovations on a global scale.'