Dow CEO wins 2013 SCI Chemical Industry Medal


Andrew Liveris is 6th Dow leader to receive the Medal since 1933

Andrew Liveris, chairman and CEO of The Dow Chemical Company, is to be awarded the 2013 SCI Chemical Industry Medal. He will be presented with the Medal at the Waldorf Astoria in New York on 12 March.

The SCI Chemical Industry Medal honours an individual whose leadership, commitment and contributions have been responsible for substantial progress and performance in the chemical industry.

Liveris is the 6th Dow leader to receive the Chemistry Industry Medal since it was established in 1933.

‘Through his leadership, Andrew has built on Dow’s proud 115-year history and led its evolution into a chemistry based science company for the 21st century,’ said Ellen Kullman, chairwoman of SCI. ‘He has established himself as a leading voice in the chemical industry and is recognised as a thought leader for issues confronting advanced manufacturing in the US and around the world.’

Liveris’ 36-year career at Dow has spanned roles in manufacturing, engineering, sales, marketing, and business and general management. He started with Dow in 1976 in Australia, and spent a large proportion of his career in Asia where his formative roles included 14 years in Hong Kong, general manager for the company\'s operations in Thailand, and president of all Asia-Pacific operations. Liveris became a member of Dow’s Board of Directors in February 2004, and was then named CEO in November. He was elected as chairman on 1 April 2006.

Liveris was also co-chair of President Obama’s Advanced Engineering Partnership in the US, and is the author of Make It in America, which presents a set of practical policies and business strategies that outline Dow’s vision for an advanced manufacturing economy.

Sign up for your free email newsletter

Born in Darwin, Australia, Liveris attended the University of Queensland in Brisbane, graduating with a degree in Chemical Engineering. He is a Chartered Engineer and a Fellow of The Institute of Chemical Engineers, as well as a Fellow of the Australian Academy of Technological Sciences and Engineering.